Untitled by Khashayar “Kess” Mohammadi

In these dark times, it’s important to closely watch what information the media feeds us. For me, there are people whose words I trust. People who, in the past, have proven their advocacy for truth and peace. They are poets, bloggers, journalists, and even comedians. These people help educate me and inspire me to find my own voice.

Khashayar Mohammadi’s poem for Palestine is as heartbreaking as the videos I’ve seen (or avoided watching) in the past couple of weeks. The minimal string of words they have chosen to put together is more telling than many stories. Each stanza leaves you with a sense of guilt deeper than faces worth of tears.

Guilt has been my starting point. I feel the guilt of having a normal life. Of being privileged enough to sit by my window, watch the drizzle outside, and be able to do what I like (write) from the comfort of my home. I feel the guilt for breathing recklessly and for feeling safe. But maybe I can do more than feel guilty. Maybe just being anti-suffering, anti-hate, and anti-violence is not enough. As someone who usually feels lost during these crises, the best advice I’ve heard these past few days has been to urge congressmen for a cease-fire, stop scrolling “mindlessly” through social media, and seek education.

In the end, I am thankful to all the people who have brought me closer to feeling and understanding what is happening between Israel and Palestine. I will keep learning and feeling for my fellow human beings. I will pray.

Please read Khashayar’s poem below and follow them on their Instagram page @dearkestrel for more.

                 Untitled by Khashayar "Kess" Mohammadi

    bombs fall
    to dismiss the siren

    you find a penny the same way you
    find yourself midway through a phone
    call

    friendly checkups
    unintended screaming

    the nurse the cop the corpse washer
    more intimate than any lover

    mouths unsweetened
    by salt and vinegar

    Just upper-bodies
    for lowered bridges

    Bedbugs in Black Europe/
    Zionist hummus where eyes burn
    from cigarette smoke

    and war, inventing children as it goes

    the greatest wish is the simplest
    desire to breach

    picking death
    out of our morning coffee

Leave a comment