A Hundred Other Girls by Iman Hariri-Kia

An unapologetic and fierce story of making it through the ups and downs of the journalism industry, A Hundred Other Girls didn’t feel like my cup of tea at first. But as I kept reading, Iman Hariri-Kia’s tone pulled me in and I found myself rooting for her main character, Noora. Throughout the book, the Persian references, both cultural and linguistic, added to the often hilarious scenes they accompanied.

As Noora navigated the writing industry, finding herself in ethical, personal, or relational conundrums, I grew more confident with her. The book left me with the courage to be more true to myself when writing, and to embrace my Iranian culture and Farsi language even if the place I once called home feels far different today than when I was growing up there. I was reminded that if I still have the taste of “ghormesabzi” on my tongue, can shimmy to Shahram Shabpareh, and address my friend by “khare,” I still belong.

Iman’s depiction of Noora’s character, a first-generation who held on to parts of her heritage with pride and without judging herself, made me feel proud of my past choices, particularly regarding my appearance. Culturally, the women in Iran have often been reduced to their hijabs in a black-and-white way, being associated with particular traits or beliefs if they choose to don the fabric or not. Of course, the women are more than what the public assigns to them based on their hijab status. But it takes time, as it did for me when I chose to wear the head scarf, to accept being put in a labeled box, to navigate the judgments, and to arrive at a place of respect for my choice. Even though wearing the hijab has become second nature to me, A Hundred Other Girls revitalized my confidence in the decision I made years ago.

Find A Hundred Other Girls at your local library or buy it at your indie bookstore. You can also access it through Libro, a new audiobook platform that allows you to support your local bookstore with each purchase. Finally, read more about Iman Hariri-Kia on her website or connect with her through Instagram @imanharirikia.

Leave a comment